Peta Edebone Cup

The Peta Edebone Cup is an elite level competition for Victoria’s elite womens softballers and is named after Softball Victoria Hall of Famer – Peta Edebone.

The tournament will involve three franchises who will compete across February 2021 – starting Wednesday February 3 – and concluding with the Grand Final on February 28.

The annual competition will showcase the very best female softballers in the State each week – in the fast-paced and exciting Fully Loaded format.


The Storm caused a major upset in the Grand Final, taking out the Peta Edebone Cup 7-4 over the Purple Haze.

Having been on the losing end of the previous two Grand Finals, the win was a fairytale ending to the season for the side.

The Haze opened the batting but were unable to find their usual groove, the Storm defended well only conceding one run, Tania Puketapu stood up with a solid inning pitching.

At the bottom of the second with the scores levelled at 2-2 the game was up the grabs – and with the Storm up to bat – a flurry of five runs to close their inning would ensure they had one hand on the title.

It was Katherine Laemmle who started the wave, her long shot to right field would result in two runs, and when a fielding error followed seconds later, a third run quickly followed opening the lead to three runs.

Emily Pateras hit a home run not long after, putting the Haze in an unusual position of having to score five runs to at least force the Storm to bat again.

The Haze would swiftly score two runs to trim the margin to three runs, Puketapu stepping up once again on the mound, striking Haze players out as her side ran out 7-4 to emerge as champions of the Peta Edebone Cup.

Congratulations to the following award winners:

Pitching Award – Nicky Martin (Haze)

ERA 2.92, 15 strikeouts, gave up 5 earned runs for the tournament.

Batting Award – Alys Young (Haze)

Average 571, 6 RBI, scored 14 Runs.

MVP Award – Tania Puketapu (Storm)

Batting Average 500, 7 RBI, 1 Home Run, ERA 2.47, 24 Strikeouts, gave up 4 earned runs.

2020-21 Team Lists: