Softball Victoria History

Softball in Victoria began in 1942 when a competition was established to cater for US troops who challenged our local nurses. Rebels and Posties were the first local teams and they went on to form, in December 1942, the Victorian Women’s Softball Association, later to be known as Victorian Amateur Softball Council of Victoria, then Victorian Softball Association Inc and now Softball Victoria. Whilst this competition was based at The Domain and/or Fawkner Park the Victorian Women’s Softball Association was also responsible for developing softball throughout Victoria. Culminating over time in twenty four affiliated Associations being established around the state, commencing with Ballarat, Geelong, Horsham, Albury and Sunshine, concluding with Sunbury.

SV now have 16 member associations and over 50 clubs and has strong representation in primary and secondary schools across the State.

View more...